Advanced search
Start date

Development and evaluation of a new concept of stationary liquids for high efficiency liquid chromatography


This project will study the development of concepts, techniques and applications related to new stationary phases for high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), based on liquid-liquid chromatography, using polymeric liquids. The project will involve exploratory aspects in which several parameters such as the porous support, the chemistry of the surface and of the pores, chemical modifications of the support carried out by introducing metals such as titanium or zirconium onto the silanol groups, the nature of the polymer, the methods to place the polymer into the pores and possible treatments of the prepared liquid phase will be investigated. The principal objective will be the development of concepts and techniques to prepare new non-bonded stationary phases, assessing their advantages and disadvantages by comparison of their physical, chemical and chromatographic properties with those of chemically bonded phases containing similar groups. In case the new phases present properties which permit their unrestricted use for HPLC, these results can be considered as an important step for both analytical and preparative separations. If the results do not appear as promising as initially thought, it should still be possible to define the utility and the limitations of these new stationary phases, which can be prepared with costs significantly smaller than those currently encountered. (AU)

Articles published in Agência FAPESP Newsletter about the research grant:
Articles published in other media outlets (0 total):
More itemsLess items

Please report errors in scientific publications list by writing to:
Filed patent(s) as a result of this research project

PROCESSO PARA OBTENÇÃO DE FASES ESTACIONÁRIAS PARA CROMATOGRAFIA LÍQUIDA DE ALTA EFICIÊNCIA, BASEADAS EM POLISSILOXANOS ADSORVIDOS E IMOBILIZADOS NA SUPERFÍCIE DE SÍLICA POROSA. PI0204734-9 - Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP) ; Universidade Estadual de Campinas (UNICAMP) . Kenneth Elmer Collins; Carol Hollingworth Collins; Isabel Cristina Sales Fontes Jardim; Tania Akiko Anazawa; Maria do Carmo Hespanhol da Silva; Carla Beatriz Grespan Bottoli; Edivan Tonhi; Zahra Fazal Chaudhry; Marcos Kapor - October 2002, 21